BH-Bharat Series registration begins!

The Union ministry of road transport and highways (MORTH) has recently announced Bharat series (BH-series registration), for new vehicles. The BH series would be beneficial to vehicles that move from one state to another (job transfers).

Odisha was the first state to start the BH series registration.

This facility can be availed by State and Central government employees. If any employee working in the private sector wants to get the BH series number, the respective company of the employee must have their offices located in at least four states or Union Territories.

The registration of BH series has started on 15th September and is only for new vehicle on voluntary basis. The registration is done online by the dealer through Vahan Portal.

The Vehicles registered with the BH series number plate will be levied road tax for two years. The road tax will be 8 percent for vehicles priced below INR 10 lakh, 10 percent for vehicles in the range INR 10-20 lakh and for vehicles costing above INR 20 lakh, tax will be 12 percent.

2 percent extra charge will be levied for diesel vehicles and 2 percent less tax is charged for electric vehicles, said Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Government of India.